Skip to content

How To Delete Gmail Account?

It does not matter the reason, but you can always close an email account with ease and not many steps to follow. In this article we will teach you how to delete a Gmail account, permanently or not, from a phone or tablet for example.




Also, it can happen that your mailbox reached its limit and you just want to know how to delete all your emails on your Gmail account.

The steps to take are just a few and basically you just need to be sure that you really want to do it, because it is a permanent action.

Or in other words, you won’t be able to use your Gmail address anymore, although, your Gmail account is not related to your Google account, so even if you deleted your Gmail, you will be able to use for example, your Google Play or Google Drive.

Also, if you are receiving too much spam, and undesirable messages we will teach you, for instance, how to delete promotions on Gmail.



How To Delete Gmail Account?
How To Delete Gmail Account?

How To Delete Gmail Account?

So, to delete your Gmail account follow the steps below:



  • Sign in to your email account on the Google website;
  • Locate and click on the grid icon on the upper right-hand corner of the screen and select “Account”;
  • Under the “Account Preferences” section, click on “Delete your account or services”;
  • Select “Delete Products” ;
  • Enter you password one more time;
  • (Optional) If you want to backup your data, click on the option “Download Data” and a copy of your mailbox will start to download;
  • Click on the trash icon next to “Gmail”;
  • Type an alternative email address(it is not possible to use another Gmail address), and make sure you have access to it, because you will need it to delete your Gmail account;
  • Click on “Send verification email”;
  • Open your alternative email address and click on the last email sent by Google.
  • Follow the link in the message;
  • Log in to the Gmail account you want to delete if prompted;
  • Select “Yes, I want to delete example@gmail.com.”;
  • Click on “Delete Gmail” and then to finish the deletion process, click “Done”.

How To Delete Gmail Account From Phone?

To delete a Gmail account on your mobile follow the steps:

  • Go to the home screen;
  • Find and touch “Settings”;
  • Touch “Account”;
  • Select the account you want to delete;
  • Touch “Remove account”;
  • Your confirmation will be requested. Confirm it to remove your Gmail account from your mobile phone.

Delete Gmail Account On Tablet?

To delete a Gmail account on your tablet, the process is the same as in your mobile phone, so follow the steps:

  • Go to the home screen;
  • Find and touch “Settings”;
  • Touch “Account”;
  • Select the account you want to delete;
  • Touch “Remove account”;
  • Your confirmation will be requested. Confirm it to remove your Gmail account from your tablet.

How To Delete Gmail Account Permanently?

As told before on this article, deleting a Gmail account is a permanent action, so, if you followed the steps already mentioned, you will delete and will not be able to access it ever again, so be sure on what you are doing and do not forget to download your account data, so this way you can recover any message from the past.



How To Delete All My Emails On Gmail?

If you prefer not to delete your Gmail account but delete all of the email messages you have on it, follow the steps below.

  • On your mailbox page, select the checkbox on the top to select all emails on that page;
  • A message will be displayed, asking if you want to select not only all the emails from that page but all emails you have on your account;
  • Click the link on that message to select all the messages you have on your Gmail account;
  • Click the bin/trash can icon and all messages will be sent to Gmail’s bin;
  • After 30 days your messages inside the bin will be permanently deleted from your Gmail account.

How To Delete Promotions On Gmail?

Gmail categorizes promotions in a different tab. On the home screen of your Gmail account, click on the “Promotions” tab. Select the checkboxes next to the email messages you want to delete and click on the trash can icon on the top of the page. The selected messages will be sent to the bin of your Gmail account and after 30 days there, they will be permanently deleted.

How To Delete Sent Messages On Gmail Before Someone Reads?

If you accidentally or regretted sending an email, you can undo it before someone reads.

This feature must be activated and to do so, go to your Gmail settings, and find the “General” tab. Check the box that says “Enable Undo Send”.

So, the next time you send an email, Gmail will display the message “Your message has been sent. Undo. View Message.” and if you regretted sending it, click on the Undo link.